Make Submission

Make Comment

Strategic Review of Health and Medical Research in Australia

Review Panel: Private Meeting 5

Update:4 April 2012

The Panel of the Strategic Review of Health and Medical Research in Australia (the Review) held its fifth private meeting on Wednesday 4 April 2012 in Canberra.

The Panel has now received over 300 submissions, many of which are from key stakeholders in health and medical research. The Panel called for written submissions in early February 2012, with submissions due by 30 March 2012.

Public consultations will commence in mid April 2012 and continue through until July. Consultations are planned for each capital city of Australia and both private meetings with major stakeholders and a public workshop with all other interested stakeholders, including members of the public, will be held in each city.

The Review's public meeting schedule is as follows:

  • Hobart : 18 April 2012 Public meeting from 1.00 to 3.00 pm at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart
  • Canberra : 19 April 2012 Public meeting from 2.00 to 4.00 pm at CSIRO Corporate Centre, Limestone Avenue, Campbell
  • Melbourne : 1 May 2012 (afternoon) time & venue TBA
  • Darwin : 8 May 2012 (afternoon) time & venue TBA
  • Brisbane : 29 May 2012 (afternoon) time & venue TBA
  • Adelaide : 5 June 2012 (afternoon) time & venue TBA
  • Perth : 6 June 2012 (afternoon) time & venue TBA
  • Sydney : 5 July 2012 (afternoon) time & venue TBA

Information about times and venues for each city after Canberra will be posted on the Review website here and confirmation emails sent to all people who have email addresses registered with the review.

The Panel urges all interested people and organisations to register their interest in attending the public meetings on the Review website.

The Panel is to provide a report to the Australian Government in late 2012 which will include recommendations for a 10-year, national, strategic health and medical research plan.

The Panel's next private meeting is planned for early May 2012 in Canberra.

The terms of reference for the review are provided here .

Simon McKeon


Panel Members
The members of the expert panel are:

Mr Simon McKeon (Chair)

Ms Elizabeth Alexander AM

Professor Henry Brodaty AO

Mr Bill Ferris AC

Professor Ian Frazer

Professor Melissa Little

Google SitemapSites we would recommend